Recipes

Nutella Shortcrust Pie

Today’s recipe is one that has been highly requested, but I could never post as for some reason I never managed to take a good picture of it. I am still not 100% happy with the one I finally took but to be honest, I am NOT a good photographer and I use my iphone camera so really there is only so much I can expect to see in said picture.

Anyway…

As you can see from the title of this post, it is going to be a shortcrust pie and before you click away thinking “ain’t nobody got time for that” let me tell you this: shortcrust is simple, it just tastes fancy. For me the secret is to use a chilled bowl. This recipe is inspired by one of my favourite Italian pies which is called a crostata, it looks very similar but the dough is different, more like a biscuit I would say, but as you all know by now: I am not great at baking (YET), and I am also kind of lazy so this is my version.

The filling is basically a jar of Nutella. That’s it. Nutella tastes so good, it doesn’t even need anything else. why spoil it but freestyling?

For this pie you will need:

  • 125g Cold Unsalted Butter, cubed
  • 250g Sifted Flour
  • 1 Egg Yolk
  • 75g Sugar
  • Cold Water
  • 1 jar of 250g of Nutella at room temperature
  • 1 Egg beaten.

Start by greasing your tart tin.

In your chilled bowl add in your butter, sugar and flour and with your fingers start to break up the butter. Work quickly so as not to melt the butter too much. Everything should be combined and it will look like large breadcrumbs. If you have a food processor you can just add them in there and it will do the job for you.

Add in your yolk and 1 tablespoon of the cold water and mix until combined.

Flip it onto a floured surface and knead until smooth. Warp it in cling film and leave it in the fridge for 30 minutes.

When it has chilled you can start using it. On a floured surface roll it to your desired size and place it on your tart tin. Cut the left over pastry into strips and set aside.

Fill in your pie with Nutella, I usually use just over half a jar. As tempting as it may be, DON’T overfill it.

Now you can place your strips onto the pie in a criss cross manner.

Bake at 180C for 40 about 40 mins. 10 minutes before the end of cooking time, take it our and brush the pastry edges and strips with the beaten egg. Put it back in the oven for the remaining 10 minutes.

Let it cool and enjoy with a hot cup of coffee.

One thought on “Nutella Shortcrust Pie

Leave a Reply

