Motivation Monday

Motivation Monday – 16/01/2017

This week I want to talk about doing what is right.
This is something we have all heard growing up: “do the right thing”. The right thing according to who? Our parents? Society? Our teachers? I have come to the conclusion that the answer is simple: none of the above.
To me doing what’s right means doing what is right for me and the only way to know that is to look deep within myself and ask: Am I ok with this? In 10 years will I be able to live with myself? If the answer is no to either question then I don’t think it’s the right thing to do.

As humans we all make mistakes, it’s in our nature and it’s how we learn, but we also have to think before we make those mistakes. For example at any point in time we can decide that something is the right thing for us to do and then in 5-10 years time we can look back and think “actually that wasn’t so smart” and that’s ok, that just shows that we have grown, and personal growth is not something that stops once you reach 18 or 30 or 45.

Personal growth is a life long process, everyday we learn new things and every day we overcome new challenges that teach us and can change the way we think.  So it’s ok to make mistakes but it’s important that before we act we know that we are not wronging our soul. It’s important that when we do something we are doing it with the right mindset and we are sure of our actions. As humans we will always have regrets but personally when I look back at my mistakes and I know that when I did something I believed it was the right thing to do, it is no longer a regret. It is still a mistake but i can look at it as a learning curve.

So every now and then, when you come at a crossroad in life or you are unsure of which path to take, take a minute to look within you and ask yourself: Am I ok with this? In 10 years will I be able to live with myself?

3 thoughts on “Motivation Monday – 16/01/2017

Leave a Reply

