Recipes

Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

Meatballs are one of the ultimate comfort foods, and this is a recipe that I use at least once every 2 weeks. I have amended it and tweaked it until it became exactly what I wanted. You can use whatever cheese you prefer. The egg fact that I use 1 egg and 1 yolk might sound weird but this is how it happened. My mixture needed more eggs but I only had large and you can’t really measure half an egg so I just added the yolk and it worked, so since that day I use 1 large egg and 1 yolk.

These measurements will make 8 large meatballs.

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 yolk
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/2 diced red onion
  • 250g of beef mince meat
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar
  • 2/4 cup shredded mozzarella
  • 2/4 cup shredded gouda
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • Fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • Cooking oil of your choice
  • Marinara Sauce (I use about 2-3 cans of chopped tomato for it)

Now mix all your ingredients except for the cheese, make sure everything is nice and incorporated. Add more breadcrumbs if needed.

Take some of the mixture and flatten it out in your hand, then put some cheese in the middle and shape the meatball around it, squeezing it a few times in order to get rid of any little gaps that could let any cheese escape.

The size is up to you, i like to make them big enough to require the use of utensils, but also not too big that having multiple on a plate will make me look like a pig.

In a skillet heat up some oil of your choice, 2-3 tablespoons should be enough,  and add your meatballs, make sure they are browned all all sides. Keep the heat high in order to cook the meat through. At this point add your marinara sauce and let it simmer with the meatballs until the meat is cooked through. You can also cook the sauce with the meatballs in it if you prefer, I usually just pre make the sauce in bulk to save on time.

Serve with pasta of your choice or some bread, or you can even omit the sauce and have the meatballs with a salad.


Another twist that I like to do with these meatballs is to use minced lamb and goats cheese, but that’s a slightly different method and I will post it another time.

If you would like to take part in my “what should I post next” polls or just keep up with me you can find me on twitter @rominaslittlecorner

xoxo

 

 

10 thoughts on “Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

  1. Holy smokesssss, they look amazing. I’m sure if I even attempted to cook this my kitchen would combust (I’m a terrible cook) but looks so yummy! Might have to pass the recipe on to my boyfriend so he can make them for me (‘: haha xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

