Recipes

Spicy Salmon Soup

As requested by Twitter here it is. A nice heartwarming soup recipe. This is my salmon soup, its perfect for cold days, and its also very easy to make. It looks good and it tastes oh so yummy.
I came up with this recipe after falling in love with Wasabi’s salmon Teryaky soumen and I thought “why can’t I add salmon to soup at home?”. I’ll admit at first I was very worried that it would not work but I knew that I had to at least try it.

To make this you will need:

  • 2 skinless and boneless salmon fillets
  • 1Litre of vegetable stock
  • 1 cup of broccoli
  • 100g of spaghetti (thinner the better in my opinion) or noodles
  • 0.5 cup sliced button mushrooms
  • 0.5 cup mangetout
  • 3 baby corns
  • 1tbs dark soy sauce
  • pea sized amount of tomato concentrate
  • a pinch of brown sugar
  • 1 lemons (juice it except for 2 small slices)
  • Spring onion
  • Fresh chillies, sliced
  • A handful of fresh coriander

Mix the soy sauce with a pinch sugar and pan fry the salmon with it. Once the salmon is cooked through break it up using a wooden spoon, break up the whole thing until you have flakes or small chunks. Keep it on the heat while you do this, it will start crisping up at the edges.

In a large pot heat up a tablespoon of olive oil and saute the mushroom, baby corn, broccoli and mangetout and mix it all with the tomato concentrate. Once they are cooked through (10-12mins) gently add in your stock and let it simmer.

Season with salt and pepper and add in your rice spaghetti or noodles, halfway through add half of the salmon.

Garnish with fresh chillies, the rest of the salmon, the leftover slices of lemon and fresh coriander. Serve hot and let it warm you through.

If you would like to take part in my “what should I post next” polls or just keep up with me you can find me on twitter @rominaslittlecorner

Xoxo

4 thoughts on “Spicy Salmon Soup

Leave a Reply

