Housekeeping

DYI cheap carpet freshener

If you live with a smoker or have pets (cats or dogs or any animal that does not live in a cage/tank) then you know how hard it is to have carpets. Our flat is all carpet and sadly for me, hubby dearest smokes. Not only does he smoke. He does it indoors when I am not home. Unlucky for him I have “the nose of a bloodhound”. Yup those were his exact words.  *inserts laughing emoji*.

Of course me and my bloodhound nose are not rich and of course I have allergies so I can’t use a lot of products on the market due to the smell. Anyway, I am a very house proud person and I REFUSE to live in a nice clean place that smells like a chimney. After MONTHS of buying products on the market such as Febreeze I decided that I cannot be spending that much money every week or 2, so off to Pinterest I went. After hours of searching and reading everything from coffee to lemon to shampoo, I found a method that works for me.

You will need 2 very simple and cheap things: Bicarbonate soda (I swear this stuff is MAGIC) and your favourite essential oil. Mine is from the Tonka Bean and Vanilla one from The Body Shop.

IMG_2841.jpg

You have a container with one of those sprinkling tops (a clean spices or herbs container will do) you can use that. If not you can do what I do which, lets be honest, is the cheapskate way ;-).

Take a plastic container and put in your Bicarbonate of Soda, adjust your measurement to the size of the room. I use about 50g for my living room and most of the hallway, as these are the spaces where the smell lingers. Add a few drops of the essential oil, again the amount is up to you, but I usually add about 7-10 drops as I don’t wanna ruin the carpet. Mix it all with a toothpick and get all the clumps out, or as many as you can. Cover your container with cling film and use the toothpick yo make holes on it so that you have your own sprinkling lid ;-).

IMG_2842.jpg

Hoover your floor and then sprinkle your mixture generously all over it. Leave it for a few hours or overnight. Hoover it all up again but this time you will need to hoover it up twice to make sure you get everything.

And Voila`. Fresh smelling carpet.

 

PS:IF YOU HAVE SMALL CHILDREN OF PETS PLEASE TAKE EXTRA CARE WHEN HOOVERING AND KEEP THEM AWAY FROM THE AREA BEFORE YOU HAVE CLEANED IT.

 

See you in the next post!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

